R310.00

Available on backorder

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
Send as a Gift

To send as a gift notify us at checkout. The book will be sent all tied up in a bow along with your message!

 

Shipping & Returns

Shipping options available:
Free collection from 22 Saxonwold Dr, Saxonwold, Johannesburg
3 – 5 day delivery for books that are in stock
10 – 14 days for books that are out of stock but available locally from the publisher
6 – 8 weeks for books that need to be ordered from the UK.  In this case, please correspond with us regarding your order.

Enquire about stock

Regret no international delivery

Regret no returns

The Postmistress of Paris

by Meg Waite Clayton

Harper Collins

I do love fiction based on true characters and this novel is a testament to the young American heiress, Mary Jane Gold, who in the early days of German occupation of France took unthinkable personal risks to smuggle artists and intellectuals out of war-torn Europe.

Wealthy, beautiful Nanee was living in Paris when German tanks rolled across the border and instead of taking the first transport back home to the United States she decided to join the resistance.  She moved to Marseille and became known as the Postmistress delivering information to those in hiding and using all of her charms and foreign allure to hide those hunted by the Nazis and deliver them to safety.

Photographer Edouard Moss escaped Germany with his young daughter only to be interned in a French labour camp. Could Nanée get them out of France to the safety of America?

There’s been a run of books with Paris in the title lately and my only real criticism is that this one wasn’t really set in Paris but nonetheless it’s an excellent WW11 read.  Its harrowing and page-turning with brave, warm characters filled with conviction and passion for art in all its forms and of course, there’s a wonderful romance…

Clayton’s book celebrates courageous acts, large and small, within the vast Resistance network from forgers, lookouts, drivers, mapmakers, innkeepers with secret rooms. And “The Postmistress of Paris” is an homage to the courage of creative acts, to the refuge of art and its reminder, or insistence, on our shared humanity. – The San Fransisco Chronicle

Fans of Kate Quinn and Kristin Hannah will want to dive right into The Postmistress of Paris. – BookPage

I loved The Postmistress of Paris, a novel of so many layers–a suspense story, a love story, and a story about the purpose of art.– Lisa Scottoline, New York Times bestselling author

Category: Tag: